"...the beauty of the model is that they can do well by doing good." -Cory
Read More Testimonials»

On the Technology Blog

Up and Coming IOS Game Apps

If you are looking for some time to kill with some wickedly fun games, look no further than the iTunes App Store. Here is a glance into the top 10 games in the app store and what...

Read More About Up and Coming IOS Game Apps»

Our Using Facebook Experts

Paul Saffo

Paul Saffo

Stanford professor, technology forecaster and Facebook enthusiast...

Shared by First30Days View Profile»
Andy Barger

Andy Barger

Contributing writer and editor of Facebook Fanatic

Shared by First30Days View Profile»
Liz Ryan

Liz Ryan

Author of Happy About Online Networking and human resources...

Shared by First30Days View Profile»

Meet all of our Technology Experts»

News

The latest news on this change — carefully culled from the world wide web by our change agents. They do the surfing, so you don't have to!

Kicking Privacy Up a Notch

Can the internet keep a secret? Starting today, Facebook boosts security to seal your lips a little bit tighter.

The newest features will protect your reputation—and sanity—by putting an end to frantically checking what’s been tagged to your name. Before, the site did offer multiple privacy options. But if you only wanted some of your coworkers to see the snapshots from last night, it wasn’t possible. It was either all of your network or nothing. If you were picky, then maybe you settled on yourself as the only viewer.

Customize your settings further than before! For your profile, you can still adjust each section: your basic info, status updates, wall and more. One of the new features includes granting “Friends of Friends” (the friends of your friends on Facebook) access to parts of your profile, without them being in your networks or your personal friend.

Also you may “Edit Custom Settings” by selecting exactly who can view your information. But what really differs is the last option, to add the names of specific friends who should not have access to that part of your page. This is similar to—but not as drastic as—the blocking option that keeps users from seeing you at all, even in searches. So if you don’t want Lucy in human resources to see your videos and notes, but everything else is fair game, you can make it happen.

This update will help fussy users, but will all Facebook followers adjust these new alternatives, or just ignore the post sitting securely atop the News Feed, announcing the changes? [New York Times]

Posted: 3/19/08