"I was really inspired to write you a note and let you know how much I love and enjoy what you've put together with First 30 Days! The site really offers so much value and practical wisdom for people's lives-it's just wonderful." -William
Read More Testimonials»

On the New Directions Blog

Young Adults and Addiction: The Benefits of Inpatient Care

For many young people, drug use and experimentation is a rite of passage of sorts. However, experimenting with drugs and alcohol is far from harmless, and can often result in lifelong...

Read More About Young Adults and Addiction: The Benefits of Inpatient Care»

Our Living More Spiritually Experts

Kathryn Howard

Kathryn Howard

Certified yoga master, herbalist, hypnotherapist and master...

Shared by First30Days View Profile»
Sharon Janis

Sharon Janis

Author of Secrets of Spiritual Happiness

Shared by First30Days View Profile»
Richard D. Blackstone

Richard D. Blackstone

Speaker and author of Nuts & Bolts Spirituality

Shared by First30Days View Profile»

Meet all of our New Directions Experts»

News

The latest news on this change — carefully culled from the world wide web by our change agents. They do the surfing, so you don't have to!

Chasing Waterfall Spirituality

Chasing Waterfall Spirituality

Chris Highland is a former Presbyterian pastor who prefers to commune with nature for his spiritual needs. He has always looked for a connection with a higher power, and used to find it in his church work, but now he takes to the woods and waterfalls when he wants to nurture his spiritual self.
 
In addition to being a teacher, Highland is also a prolific writer: he pens a series of Meditations books that center around nature-oriented authors such as Thoreau, Whitman and Margaret Fuller. A few years ago, in the tradition of Thoreau, Highland moved to a rural area of Washington state to experience living in a cabin in the woods.
 
Nowadays, he teaches at a university and says, “I practice waterfall spirituality, not mainstream theology.” To celebrate his birthday, which falls on December 25, he climbs a tree every day, making a day that is special to so many for a religious reason, special to himself.

How do you connect to nature? [Marin Independent Journal]

Posted: 6/9/08